Over The Coffee - Feb 2017

It has been a mild winter and so let us hope for an early spring with days that are
manageable. We have certainly been fortunate not to have lots of snow on Sundays. We
continue in the season of Sundays after Epiphany until Lent begins with Ash Wednesday
on March 1st. The Common Lectionary Readings for this month include:

      Feb. 5 - Isaiah 58:1-12, Psalm 112:1-10, 1 Corinthians 2:1-16, Matthew 5:13-20
      Feb. 12 - Deut. 30:15-20, Psalm 119:1-8, 1 Corinthians 3:1-9, Matthew 5:21-37
      Feb. 19 - Lev. 19:1-18, Psalm 119:33-40, 1 Corinthians 3:10-23, Matthew 5:38-48
      Feb. 26 - Exodus 24:12-18, Psalm 2, 2 Peter 1:16-21, Matthew 17:1-9

The Council, along with the Worship and Member Care Team and the Christian
Education and Discipleship Team, is planning an exciting Lenten Program that will run
from Sunday, March 5 through the Maundy-Thursday Service on April 13. The tentative
schedule is as follows:.

      Sun., March 5 - Agape Feast and Communion after Worship in Fellowship Hall
      Wed., March 8 - Lenten Soup and Worship at 11:00
      Sun., March 12 - America For Christ Sunday
      Wed., March 15 - Lenten Soup and Worship at 11:00
      Sun., March 19 - Lenten Breakfast Program at 9:30
      Wed., March 22 - Lenten Soup and Worship at 11:00
      Sun., March 26 - Lenten Breakfast Program at 9:30
      Wed., March 29 - Lenten Soup and Worship at 11:00
      Sun., April 2 - Lenten Breakfast Program at 9:30
      Wed., April 5 - Lenten Soup and Worship at 11:00
      Sun., April 9 - Lenten Breakfast Program at 9:30 (Palm Sunday)
      Thur., April 13 - Maundy-Thursday Upper Room Meal and Communion at 6:30

The above schedule is easier to remember if you think of it as our having four Sunday
morning breakfast programs where we will gather all the adults (children may have
breakfast and then go to their Sunday School classes) and we will enjoy a nice
continental breakfast with a study of church history from around 500 AD to 1000 AD.
On Wednesdays we will be replacing Bible study with a modest lunch and Lenten
worship service and finish the Lenten Program with our traditional Upper Room meal on
Maudy-Thursday. Please mark your calendars and share this with us.